College Style Cooking / Dinner / Lunch

One Pot Meal: Hearty Turkey Chili

Final Turkey Chili

Class is in session, which means that it is time to bring back the time saving one pot meal. What do I mean by this? I’m talking about wholesome meals with meat and veggies all cooked in the crockpot. The beauty of the crockpot is that I can toss all of my ingredients into the pot before I go to class and then when I return 7 hours later I have a nice hot ‘n’ hearty meal waiting for me.

One of my favorite crockpot meals is turkey chili. For this recipe I adapted Ina Garten’s chicken chili recipe for the crockpot and used turkey instead of chicken. Also since I didn’t feel like eating turkey chili for the next month I downsized the portions.

Turkey Chili Ingredients

For this recipe you’ll need one onion diced, a pound of ground turkey, one orange bell pepper diced, one red bell pepper diced, one 28-ounce can of diced tomatoes, two minced cloves of garlic, ½ teaspoon of chili powder, ½ teaspoon of cumin, pinch of dried red pepper flakes, 1/8 teaspoon of cayenne (I like mine spicy so I use ¼ teaspoon), 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt or to taste, 1/2 teaspoon paprika, ¼ teaspoon of freshly ground pepper. 

Mix Turkey Chili

Toss everything into a crockpot and mix it all up. Set the crockpot to low and let cook for 7-8 hours. If you want to eat sooner, you can set the temperature to high and your food will be ready in 4-5 hours.

Chicken Chilli

After you’ve let your chili stew, grab a bowl and ladle yourself a heaping serving of chicken chili. I like to top my chili with corn chips and cheddar cheese and add a couple shots of Tabasco. The cheese melts and makes a heavenly ooey gooey mess. Some other recommended condiments include diced onions, salsa and sliced jalapenos.

Ingredients:

  • 1lb Ground Turkey
  • 1 Red Bell Pepper (Diced)
  • 1 Orange Bell Pepper (Diced)
  • 1 Large Onion (Diced)
  • 28 oz Can of Diced Tomatoes
  • 2 Cloves of Minced Garlic
  • 1/2 tsp Chili Powder
  • 1/2 tsp Cumin
  • 1 Pinch Dried Red Chili Flakes
  • 1/8 tsp Cayenne
  • 1 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Paprika
  • 1/4 tsp Ground Pepper
  • Condiments: Corn Chips, Shredded Cheese, Salsa, Diced Onion and Sliced Jalapeños

Directions:

  1. Put everything into the crockpot
  2. Mix well
  3. Set heat to low and let cook for 7-8 hours
  4. Turn off heat and serve. Top with corn chips and cheese.
Leave a Reply

